Chris Sayre

Singer - Songwriter - Musician

Lincoln Journal Star - Ground Zero - August 16, 2002


KZUM to induct Sayre into new Hall of Fame

Lincoln folk artist Chris Sayre will become the first inductee in the KZUM Members' Choice Music Awards Hall of Fame.

He will be recognized during the fourth KZUM Members' Choice Music Awards at 4 p.m. Sunday at the Zoo Bar, 136 N. 14th St. The event also will include performances by local performers and the announcement of winners in various music categories.

KZUM (89.3 FM) is a platform for local musicians.

The community radio station started honoring their work with awards in 1999.

Sayre, a singer-songwriter-musician, is a three-time winner in the folk category.

He has dedicated more than 20 years to the performance and promotion of both traditional and contemporary folk music.

Hosting the awards will be Scott Young, executive director of the Food Bank of Lincoln, and KZUM music programmer Doc Mullet (aka "Doc Blues").

Tickets are $5 and a can of food for the Lincoln Food Bank.

Admission includes snacks. There will be a cash bar.

For more information or reservations, call 474-5086.

Nominees for the 2002 KZUM Members' Choice Music Awards are:

Blues Blown Away; C.A. Waller; The Heartmurmurs

Folk Fine, Thank You; Dr. John Walker; Terri Jo

Jazz The Lightning Bugs; Nancy Marshall; Annette Murrell; John Carlini Trio; Baby Needs Shoes

World Ashanti; Kusi Taki; Paddywhack

Potpourri Shithook; Mezcal Brothers; Toasted Ponies

Artist of the Year Fine, Thank You; Dr. John Walker; C.A. Waller; Baby Needs Shoes; Annette Murrell

Recording of the Year "Love & Lunch" by Fine, Thank You; "Everyday Blues" by C.A. Waller; "Scare the Fear Away" by Ben Kushner


Home | Biography | Instruments | Current CD | Schedule | Press Releases